Pork Bellies

Over the weekend I hired a rotovator from a local garden centre and set to with vigour in the new veggie patch. I quickly discovered that rotovators are about as keen as I am on taking turf off and then much later discovered that I needed to use it with it’s front wheel lifted up if I wanted it to cut deeper. So after a good many hours, the latter few of which were rather more satisfying the veggie patch went from looking like this:

veg patch before2

veg patch before 1

to this:

veg patch after

and I had to have my first soak of the year in the hot tub to try and ease my poor aching bones. Now, all I have to do is rake up all the turf and chunks of grass roots, dig it over, lay some paths, plant some veggies and Bob’s your uncle! I think the ‘Rome wasn’t built in a day’ approach may be the best one – one hour’s digging every day until complete!

All that rotovating meant that i didn’t in any way feel guilty when Sunday turned into Pork Belly Day. In the morning we sliced and tried our 5 day cured bacon with some home-laid eggs.

bacon

bacon and eggs

It was very solid to slice through, looked more like cured ham and was ridiculously salty – what a disappointment. The recipe said that 5 days was a good length of time for bacon and anything over this would make it unpalatably salty so I wonder if perhaps our little Kune Kune bellies are so much smaller that they need a lot less time to cure. The antidote is to soak the bacon overnight before use next time so that’s what we shall try.

More successful was Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall’s recipe for Aromatic Pork Belly slow cooked until tender in a syrupy stock and served with noodles and raw onion like a ramen:

pork belly

You can find it in his Meat book and I highly recommend it after a weekend of hard physical labour.

Leave a Reply

